Tamannaah Bhatia to receive Dadasaheb Phalke award for 'Baahubali'

The News Minute18 April 2018 4:16AM IST
2 min read580

Tamannaah Bhatia has another achievement to her name – she will be conferred with the Dadasaheb Phalke award for her work in SS Rajamouli’s Baahubali. The fantasy period films have become something of a cult, and Tamannaah played the role of Avantika, a warrior.
"I've grown up knowing what immense involvement Dadasaheb Phalke had enjoyed in Indian cinema. It's such an honour to be conferred an award from the foundation," Tamannaah said in a statement. The list of names also includes Aditi Rai Hydari, who will be awarded the Dadasaheb Phalke in the ‘Best Leading Lady (Critics Award)’ category for her performance in 'Bhoomi'. The 2017 revenge action drama also starred Sanjay Dutt as her father, Arun.
The controversial 'Padmaavat' too finds a mention, with Shahid Kapoor set to be felicitated for his role as Maharawal Ratan Singh in the period film. Ranveer Singh, who played Alauddin Khilji in the same film, will also be honoured at the awards. Rani Mukerji, too, has won recognition and will be awarded for her socially conscious character in the recently released 'Hichki'.
Rajkummar Rao, who came into national limelight when his film 'Newton' was India’s official entry into the Oscars last year, will be conferred the Dadasaheb Phalke for best actor for the film. Kriti Sanon will be awarded the Best Actress for 'Bareilly Ki Barfi', which also starred Ayushmann Khurana and Rajkummar Rao. The film was based on the French novel 'The Ingredients of Love'. Anushka Sharma, meanwhile, will be felicitated at the award function for her work as a producer. She was recently seen in the Hindi suspense-horror flick Pari.
The late Vinod Khanna will also be given the Dadasaheb Phalke posthumously. The actor turned politician died in Mumbai at 70 years of age on April 27, 2017 after prolonged illness. The award ceremony will take place on April 21, 2018, at St Andrews Auditorium in Mumbai. It will be attended by the who’s who of film fraternity, including producers, directors, distributors and exhibitors.